How I Became a Writer

writing
Image Credit: Srividya Balayogi on Flickr.com.

As an introvert I find relief in expressing how I feel by writing it all down. Sure I have a few friends I talk to and blab on about my problems, but I still find myself “editing” what I’m saying for fear of what they will think of me. When it comes to writing I feel limitless. I don’t edit what I’m saying through written word. I can recall an occasion when I felt really upset about a situation and I ended up writing six pages front and back! But writing is something I just started to embrace within the last few years. I didn’t even know writing was my talent.

bird
Image credit: Peter Miller on Flickr.com

I remember growing up in a household that didn’t encourage pursuing hobbies or discovering hidden talents. If I did attempt to find something I liked to do, I was mocked and made fun of by my siblings. I specifically remember developing an interest for bird watching. I had a pair of binoculars and the 1985 version of World Book Encyclopedia to research the type of bird I found. When my siblings found out, they teased me and said what I was doing was stupid. Needless to say, I listened to them and stopped bird watching.

writing
Image credit: Atul sharma.

So the years raged on as I progressed from a little girl to teenager and finally a young lady. By this point I still didn’t have any idea if I had any talent. It wasn’t until I’d reached a pivotal point in my life when I experienced my first lay off from a job. I was with the company for four years and I enjoyed every bit of it. I thought I could handle the situation and I kept telling myself it wasn’t a big deal. But no matter how much I duped myself into believing I could quickly bounce back from a lay off, reality set in and finding another job wasn’t easy. In the mist of all this, I’ve lost a lot of “friends” that were just using me for money and had taken advantage of my kindness. As you can imagine I felt so alone and didn’t have a shoulder to lean on. Since I didn’t have a true friend to confide my emotions, I began writing everything down in a journal I bought from Barnes and Noble.

I remember asking myself if it was possible to write for a living, so I started doing research resume writingon the Internet and found the answer. I immediately began to hone in on my writing skills and applying for gigs to make extra money. Once I started getting an overwhelming response from clients to work for them and kudos’s for a job well done, I knew I was heading in the right direction. Now to fast forward to 2015— I did get side-tracked from writing when I recently accepted a full time position at a retail store. But now I’m determined to be persistent in writing and offer my service to anyone who can benefit from it. Not only will I continue producing blog content, but I also want to expand my service to include resume writing. I recently became a member of the National Resume Writers’ Association (NRWA) and I’m in the process of being a Certified Resume Writer.

My experiences in life has shaped me to be the writer I am today. I’m thankful to have true friends that encourage me to never give up and my dream of being the #1 online writing service can come true.

homer simpson
Image credit: Artist Jonathan Rey. © by Matt Groening / 20th Century Fox
2 thoughts on “How I Became a Writer

Leave a Reply

